We recently updated our press release site. Press releases submitted before February 6, 2012 are displayed below. For the most recent releases, click here.

Champion the Cure Challenge names 2011 Honorees

Bangor -

BANGOR, Maine — Eastern Maine Medical Center Healthcare Charities has announced the names of the honorees for the 2011 Champion the Cure Challenge. The awards will be at during the event at 11 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 20, at 11 EMMC’s CancerCare of Maine at the Lafayette Family Cancer Center in Brewer.
Recipients of the Terry Fox Award are Don and Dora Winslow of Orrington.
The Fox Award is given to the individuals who have used their own experience with cancer to fight for a cure. Don and Dora have exemplified the hope, courage and determination shown by Terry Fox, the Canadian athlete and cancer patient who attempted to run across Canada to raise money for cancer after losing his leg to the disease in 1981.
The Honorary Chair Award goes to John and Nancy Dawson of Bangor and is give the individuals who use their time time and talents to support EMMC’s CancerCare of Maine, which makes them tireless advocates for cancer patients and survivors.
The Champion Award honoree is Dysart’s Restaurant and Truck Stop. This award recognizes the lead fundraising effort for Champion the Cure Challenge. Receiving the award for Dysart’s will be Mary Dysart Hartt.
The Youth Champion Award will be presented to Logan Lafayette. This award recognizes the efforts of an individual young person whose lead efforts benefit Champion the Cure Challenge.
Grand Marshall Family Fun Run honoree is Tommy Hosmer. This award is presented to the young individual who has demonstrated a dedication to using his/her time and talent to advocate for cancer patients and survivors by supporting EMMC’s CancerCare of Maine.

For More Information:

No Further Information is Available